About Day 3

“The worst thing about people is not the insults they hand out, but the compliments. I couldn’t bear the kind they spouted tonight, particularly when they kept saying how much everybody needs me – they, the city, the country and the whole world, I guess. Apparently, their idea of the height of glory is to deal with people who need them. I can’t stand people who need me.” He glanced at her. “Do you need me?”

She answered, her voice earnest, “Desperately.”

He laughed. “No. Not the way I meant. You didn’t say it the way they do.”

“How did I say it?”

“Like a trader – who pays for what he wants. They say it like beggars who use a tin cup as a claim check.”

Ayn Rand

Leave a Reply

